The river Spey flows behind the distillery but experts still argue to know if the distillery is geographically located in the Speyside region or not.
George Christie created in 1955 the blending company Speyside Distillery and Bonding. The following year, he bought the “Old Milton Estate” in Glen Tromie, on which was nestled the Drumguish village and the water mill, supplying the village with flour until 1949. This mill, dated from 1710, hosts the offices of the distillery’s manager.
To ensure steady quality to their blends, the Christie’s established their own malt-house in a building located on their plot, and built by Alex Fairly, using the dry-stone dyking method, taking a great deal of effort but resulting in an exceptional traditional building.
These days, 80% of the production is used to create The Speyside Single Malt, bottled in its 12 year-old version.